Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


The proclamations of Independence on the 1st January 1984 had opened a new era to Brunei Darussalam as a fully independent and sovereign nation state. On this occasion, the reorganization of the Government was announced with the establishment of ten ministries including the Ministry of Defence. The establishment of the Ministry of Defence marked the beginning for Brunei Darussalam to be responsible for handling its own defence matters, which were previously the responsibility of British Government.

With the establishment of the Ministry, the first Minister of Defence was appointed. He was Al Marhum Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddien Sa'adul Khairi Waddien, who was then called Duli Yang Teramat Mulia Paduka Seri Begawan Sultan Sir Muda Haji Omar Ali Saifuddien Sa'dul Khairi Waddien, the father of His Majesty The Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan Negara Brunei Darussalam. On the demise of the Al Marhum on 7 September 1986, His Majesty assumed the position of Minister of Defence.

The Ministry of Defence was re-organized and re- structured towards the end of 1986. The current organization structure together involves the Royal Brunei Armed Forces, Royal Brunei Malay Reserve Unit and the Gurkha Reserve Unit. The establishment of the Ministry of Defence signifies a new and modern transformation for Brunei Darussalam. With the current organization structure, the Ministry of Defence is headed by the Minister of Defence who is being assisted by the Deputy Minister of Defence. Further, in fulfilling the needs of defence matters and decision making process both internally and externally in order to achieve the capability of national defence policy, the ministry has formed up two sections within the organization which consists of the Civilian Staff Division and Military Staff Division.

The Civilian Staff Division is headed by a Permanent Secretary, who is responsible for four directorates: Directorate of Finance and Acquisition, Directorate of Administration and Manpower, Directorate of Development and Work Services, and Directorate of Defence Policy. While the Military Staff Division is headed by the Commander of Royal Brunei Armed Forces who is the principal adviser on defence and operational military matters to the Defence Minister. There are five directorates in this division: Operations, Intelligence, Personnel, Logistics and Force Capability Development.


To Deliver Robust, Responsive and Resource Efficient Armed Forces.


To Defend Our Sovereignty, Territorial Integrity and Uphold the Constitution and the Malay Islamic Monarchy Philosophy.


  • To implement defence policy
  • To enhance force capability
  • To promote defence diplomacy
  • To contribute to nation building